Half Term - Monday 22nd October to Friday 26th October 2018
Home Page

Bradford Primary School

01409 281432


EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) Curriculum

National Curriculum for Years 1 to 6

The school follows the Primary National Curriculum which consists of nine subjects plus Religious Education. A wide variety of teaching methods are used ranging from whole class teaching to individual teaching. Small group work is widely used, when children are grouped according to their ability. Subjects are integrated in cross curricular themes to make learning interesting. Educational visits are also used to inspire children’s work and reinforce their learning.


English covers different genres of fiction and non fiction writing, as well as speaking and listening, reading, grammar, spelling and handwriting. In Class 1 pupils take part in daily phonics sessions, using the Letters and Sounds model, which gives them the building blocks for their future reading, writing and spelling work.


We have a number of reading schemes within the school, linking to the coloured book band system. Children's books for home reading are selected by individual children with the support of staff, thus ensuring that a wide range of genres is covered and that the reading material is of an appropriate level. In key stage 2 pupils then move onto free reading but are still monitored and supported by staff.


At the beginning of each term parents/carers are supplied with an overview of the topics to be covered. Parents/carers are given regular updates on pupils’ learning via the fortnightly newsletter.


Parent and staff consultation meetings are held each term, with a written report in the summer term.


Information on the current National Curriculum can be found here...


If parents have any questions about the curriculum please speak to the Class teacher or Primary Lead.

We've had 5 3 1 visitors